Welcome to the

Surrey Cyber Security Cluster

The first nationally recognised cluster in the South East of the UK

The Surrey Cyber Security Cluster is a collaboration between universities, public organisations and cybersecurity sector-based across the region to further growth and innovation in the sector through dedicated administration and project funding streams.

For Surrey’s cyber-security players to come together and form the Cyber Security Cluster at this time, is an extremely important initiative to promote the industry, and help all businesses and individuals understand the very real threats that we face today.

Steve Coburn of Project Five

Our Members

Our Advisory Board

Mark Pearson

Head of Knowledge Exchange and Enterprise, Royal Holloway University of London

Adrian Nish

Head of Cyber, BAE Systems

Steve Coburn

Chief Executive Officer, Project Five

Dr Iona Boureanu

Senior Lecturer in Secure Systems, University of Surrey

Gold Standard Universities

Two of the UK’s Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR) – Royal Holloway University of London and University of Surrey are based in Surrey.

Royal Holloway’s world-class research in cyber security has been recognised by GCHQ and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), one of only three universities in the UK to achieve such status.

Royal Holloway University of London is also one of the founder institutions of the International Cyber Security Centre of Excellence that is focussing on international cyber security challenges. The University of Surrey is home to the Surrey Centre for Cyber Security which leads on cyber security education across the university, and on outreach to schools and industry. A 6G Innovation Centre, the Institute for People-Centred Artificial Intelligence, and the Surrey Space Centre are also based at the university, supporting the embedding of cyber security into these fields.

Join the cluster